O’Connell Street, Dublin City centre is the city’s main thoroughfare and less than a minute from the Academy Plaza. While being the city’s busiest street it is a walkway through Irish history with many of Dublin’s “must-see” sights contained a couple of minutes from the door of the hotel.
Located in Dublin’s north inner city the area is undergoing something of a renaissance with redevelopment of Parnell Square and investment in cultural sites at Hugh Lane, James Joyce Centre and The Garden of Remembrance. O’Connell Street is one of the widest streets in Europe making it home to some of Dublin’s favourite shops and a great location for shopping in Dublin. O’Connell Street is lively during the day with a mix of shops, bars, cafes and tours all intertwined with tourists and workers creating a magical ambience. As well as being the main thoroughfare in the city O’Connell Street also provides access to the southside via O’Connell Bridge.
2016 commemorated 100 years of the Easter Rising and a series of events remembered this turbulent time in Irish history and O'Connell Street was at the fore of these events, with that in mind here is history for you. The main landmark of O’Connell Street is the General Post Office (GPO) which was the headquarters of the Irish 1916 rising. Visitors can also visit monuments to Charles Stewart Parnell “the uncrowned Kind of Ireland” and James “Big Jim” Larkin, the trade union activist who was responsible for the “lock out” in 1913. At the top of O’Connell Street stands the remarkable statue of “The Liberator” Daniel O’Connell of whom the street is named after. Daniel O’Connell was a prominent figure in Irish history from the early 1800s that peacefully campaigned for the emancipation of Irish Catholics. Interestingly the statue suffered a hail of bullets during the 1916 rising and the bullet holes are still visible today.
Modern day sculpture on the street is the “Monument of Light”, nicknamed “The Spire”. The tallest sculpture in the world at 121.1 metres stands on the former site of “Nelsons Pillar” was unveiled in 2002.